RSS Feed

“And All the Love I Had to Give You”

I’m giving this poetry thing a try. If I fail miserably, please don’t tell me 🙂 This is definitely a work in progress/first draft.

"But I fell somber when I sped under the overpass and knew they were together and then, as though summoned, saw them, too"

“And All the Love I Had to Give You”

by Kerina C. Pharr

There is a buzz of energy in, energy out
the reverberation of green wood dying to sprout
who knows why it waits ‘til ten at night
But the television redirects the droning hum
like music for plants that grow healthy and strong
despite the cage they’re planted in
Just play the songs I know and have already decided to love
A Pile of library books that can’t be read in a night
How could you ever say goodbye to anyone again?

I don’t

These words and songs, these photos and moments
frozen mid-speed on an electric highway
we pass over again and again, tracing as though we could relive
the time we’ve lost
Buy it, save it, hold it, guarantee its return
it will come back again
A cheap reminder of a perfect moment
Cruel in its fleeting, begging to be pulled up by the roots, but

I can’t

grieve the New Year yet unborn
a vast and empty road
frozen over frost heaves that have yet to burst from their womb
But I fell somber when I sped under the overpass
and knew they were together and then,
as though summoned, saw them, too
A bridge built over two alluring trolls, resplendent in their ferocity,
Together when I should have held them apart
a wrist of each in my grasp
my body in between to soak up the fidelity
they spew carelessly onto the pavement
Harsh and cold, gravity’s final resting place
I wish I could turn back but

I won’t

I must keep going with
all the love I had to give you
though I have nowhere to put it
now,  but to burrow deep within my work
my world, these lines, this book
leave it out for the offering
hope it roots and blooms
as I cannot

Stop loving you.

"I must keep going with all the love I had to give you though now I have nowhere now to put it nowhere but to burrow deep within my work"

Leave a Reply

